Author Topic: effects  (Read 2070 times)

Offline steff1984

• Axon
effects
« on: June 27, 2014, 05:40:49 PM »
hi
i am just wondering what effect that CF has on the brain and the pressure long term as in old age. i was told that the CF is acidic and it damages your optic nerves what other effect long term period?
i know may seem like a daft question these are question i have for neuro as i studyscience i have a basic knowledge of human biology i have more greater understanding of plant and chemistry? just curosity

thank you

Offline Keren

• Ganglion
Re: effects
« Reply #1 on: June 28, 2014, 07:46:47 AM »
Hi Steff,

I am an engineer and a physicist and i like to ask questions too, thats how you learn. so i never worry about asking questions if i dont know something.
I am not a doctor.

But are you asking about whether Cerebro spinal fluid is acidic and this has an effect on the brain??? I am not sure but i like to think things through....

I dont know what the pH reading of the CSF is but to be stable it must be in harmony with the cerebral system. But i guess you are asking like in the case of Stomach acid -normally happily contained in the stomach - but you get an ulcer and get it eating away at your stomach lining when stress makes you produce too much - therefore in IIH is over production and high pressure making it eat away at the eye balls?? I would probably expect the answer to be no. because hydrochloric acids (stomach acids) are some of the strongest in the body, my feeling is that CFS is not comparable??? - physics does says increasing in pressure increases rate of reactions but if the reaction was negligible to begin with then the increase with pressure (and time) could be negligible.